** Sagar Sandesh print version ceases to be published from December 31, 2017. New look E-paper would be available from Jan. 1, 2018 onwards. free of cost.**

Five Major Ports to develop waterways in their vicinity

Under Section 111 of the Major Port Trusts Act, 1963, directions have been issued by the government to five Major Port Trusts, viz. Paradip, Mormugao, JNPT, New Mangalore and Deendayal to take up development of the National Waterways (NWs) which are located in their vicinity.


The Major Ports will undertake the development of National Waterways through release of grants by the Inland Waterways Authority of India. Among the NWs earmarked for development by the Major Ports, NW-27, 68, 111 in Goa; NW-10 and 85 in Maharashtra and NW-100 in Gujarat are operationalised, and no time frame has been fixed for operationalising the remaining NWs.


This information was given by the Minister of State for Shipping, Road Transport and Highways and Chemicals and Fertilisers, Mr Mansukh Mandaviya, in Parliament recently.


Copyright © 2019 PORT TO PORT - Shipping Services Portal ( Sagar Sandesh ). All rights reserved.

Follow Us