** Sagar Sandesh print version ceases to be published from December 31, 2017. New look E-paper would be available from Jan. 1, 2018 onwards. free of cost.**

India joins Ashgabat Agreement.

India has joined Ashgabat Agreement.

"Turkmenistan, as depository State of Ashgabat Agreement, informed India today (1 February ) that all the four founding members have consented to the accession of India (to the agreement)," the external affairs ministry said.

India’s accession to the Agreement will enter into force on 3 February 2018.

Besides Turkmenistan, the other founding members of the agreement are Iran, Oman and Uzbekistan and these countries had signed the pact on April 25, 2011.

Ashgabat Agreement envisages facilitation of transit and transportation of goods between Central Asia and the Persian Gulf.

 Accession to the Agreement would diversify India’s connectivity options with Central Asia and have a positive influence on India’s trade and commercial ties with the region.

With the approval of the Union Cabinet, India deposited the instrument of accession with Turkmenistan in April 2016.

Copyright © 2019 PORT TO PORT - Shipping Services Portal ( Sagar Sandesh ). All rights reserved.

Follow Us