** Sagar Sandesh print version ceases to be published from December 31, 2017. New look E-paper would be available from Jan. 1, 2018 onwards. free of cost.**

E Way bill scheme takes off with ten states already implementing it before launch

Six more states, including Gujarat, Haryana and Bihar, have joined the government's centralized e-way bill system for inter-state road transportation of goods in the GST regime, taking the total of states implementing the scheme to ten. Under the Goods and Services Tax rolled out from July last year, inter-state movement of goods beyond 10 km, with a value of Rs 50,000 and above, will mandatorily require e-way bill from February 1. Four states -- Karnataka, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand and Kerala -- have already started using e-way Bill. , six more states -- Haryana, Bihar, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Sikkim and Jharkhand -- have started the trial runs kick started by the GST Network (GSTN).

Other states are also likely to join us soon in this initiative and it will be implemented throughout the country from next month. Transporters and other taxpayers will not be required to visit any tax office or check post under this system and the E-way Bill can be generated electronically.

 Transporters who want to generate e-way bill can visit the 'ewaybill.nic.in' portal and register themselves by giving the GSTIN. Transporters who are not registered under GST can enroll themselves under e-way bill system by providing their PAN or Aadhaar to generate the eWay Bill. There is a provision for cancellation of e-way Bill within 24 hours of its generation.


Copyright © 2019 PORT TO PORT - Shipping Services Portal ( Sagar Sandesh ). All rights reserved.

Follow Us