** Sagar Sandesh print version ceases to be published from December 31, 2017. New look E-paper would be available from Jan. 1, 2018 onwards. free of cost.**

Odisha crisis group focuses on prevention of industrial hazards

The hazard that is being posed to human lives from industrial sectors has come under the scanner of Odisha government.

The State Crisis group, in its meeting held under the Chairmanship of Chief Secretary Mr. Aditya Prasad Padhi in secretariat conference hall yesterday (1 March 17) laid focus on measures to be taken for prevention of industrial hazard.

The Principal Secretary Labour Mr. G. Srinivas presented the updates and outlined the issues for discussion. Reviewing the actions taken so far in this direction, Chief Secretary Mr. Padhi directed the industrial units to shift the hazardous prone units, chemical and gas storages etc from heavily populated areas and close vicinity of the towns and reset those in safe distance locations. The respective hazardous companies were also told that enforcement measures would be stringent against them in case of their failure to shift the hazardous units to safe locations within specified time period. The companies dealing with explosives and hazardous chemicals were asked to have their internal mechanism and SOP ready for prevention of any crisis and immediate response to any emergency situation. Chief Secretary Mr. Padhi further asked them to conduct regular emergency drills to keep all their safety measures and mechanism in all readiness to respond.

 Development Commissioner Mr. R.Balakrishnan adding to the directions of the Chief Secretary advised the companies to have detail SOP for coordination with district administration, ODRAF units, fire stations and rapid action teams who would come to their immediate rescue.

 It was decided in the meetings that the companies would put in the internal surveillance system to have regular safety audit to identify potential threats before they have any impact on the safety. The field functionaries of the Directorate of Factories & Boilers were directed to enforce compliance to the measures suggested through safety audits. Principal Secretary Sri Srinivas appraised that around 34 such compliances were ensured during 2016.  

 The issues relating to hazard identification, risk management, preparation of on-site & off-site emergency plan, acquiring emergency management infrastructure, training of personnel and stake holders and organization of mock drills were discussed and resolved in the meeting. The meeting also decided to intensify awareness generating activities prevention of industrial hazards through seminars, conferences and meetings at local levels.

 Available data show, presently 4025 number of registered factories, 2277 registered boilers and 4, 90,227 licensed manpower dealing with hazardous materials are operating in the state. Around 13 districts have major accident hazardous factories. Near about 168 accident prone factories have been identified in the State. So far district crisis groups are functioning in 25 districts under the chairmanship of respective Collectors. It may be pertinent here to mention that the Central Crisis Group functions under Cabinet Secretary Govt of India, the State Crisis Group functions under Chief Secretary, the District Crisis Groups function under respective collectors & district magistrates and the Local Crisis Groups function at industrial pockets under the Chairmanship of respective Additional District Magistrates or Sub-Collectors as the case may be. A total number of 273 mock drills were conducted in the year 2016 in more accident prone factories. Because of the continuous surveillance, the number of fatal accidents in the State has been reduced to 37 during 2016-17 from 121 during the year 2009-2010.  Chief Secretary Sri Padhi directed the Collector, Jagatsinghpur to take a meeting of all stake holders and chalk out detail work plan to deal with any oil spill disaster in future.

 The Development Commissioner Mr. R.Balakrishnan, Principal Secretary Labour Mr. G.Srinivas, Principal Secretary Industry Mr. Sanjeeb Chopra, Principal Secretary Home Mr. Asit Kumar Tripathy, Principal Secretary Forest & Environment Mr. Suresh Chandra Mohapatra, Secretary Health & Family Welfare Mr. Pramod Meherda, Chairman-cum-Managing Director, Odisha Renewable Energy Development Agency, Mrs. Roopa Mishra along with other senior officers from various industries and  the concerned departments participated in the deliberations.

Copyright © 2017 PORT TO PORT - Shipping Services Portal ( Sagar Sandesh ). All rights reserved.

Follow Us